Beef Enchiladas

Standard

This recipe is from my childhood. I first ate this version at a friends house when I spent the night there. I came home begging my mom to get the recipe, which she did….and it was added to our regular rotation. I paired it with a rice recipe I got from a good friend in Texas, I’ll post that recipe next.

Beef Enchiladas and Rice

Beef Enchiladas and Rice

Beef Enchiladas

1 lb ground beef

1/2 chopped onion

1 or 2 garlic gloves, diced (optional)

1 small can mild diced green chilies (or more)

1 large (28 oz) can mild or spicy Enchilada Sauce (you can add 1 small can tomato sauce for an even milder version)

3 cups shredded sharp cheddar cheese (or med or mild)

8-12 Flour Tortillas (soft taco size, not the large burrito size – I know flour isn’t traditional but they are easier to work with and add a distinct tecture to this recipe)

1 small can sliced black olives

Start by browning the hamburger meat in a large skillet. Add onions and garlic when the meat is almost done (or at the begining of browning). Drain fat (or not).  Add diced green chilies and about 1/4 cup enchilada sauce, simmer to reduce liquid and heat through.

Pour 1/4 cup or so sauce into a 9×13 inch baking dish. Work with one tortilla at a time: fill with meat mixture (I used a slotted spoon so extra fat was left in the pan), sprinkle with about 1/4 cup cheese then roll into enchilada shape.  Add sauce to the bottom of the dish if needed (just enough to moisten the bottom of each enchilada as you go).

Pour the rest of the sauce over all (if you want to make sure it stays moist you can cover with foil for the first 20 minutes or so but be careful not to let it touch the enchiladas or it will pull the top part off when you remove the foil)  Bake in a 350 degree oven until sauce is bubbly and inside is hot (about 30 minutes). Top with more cheese and put back in oven to melt. Add sliced olives just before serving. It will stay together better if it sits for a little bit before serving.

2 responses »

  1. Ok, thanks for the enchilada recipe but where can I find your rice recipe? I am a Bakersfield girl myself, now living in the mountains above Glennville and I know your cousin Sandy Armstrong.
    Thanks, … love your site, “the Scent of a Homemaker” could have been written by me, it is words from my very soul! Be blessed today!
    Lori Byrd

    • Hi Lori, welcome to my site, thanks for enjoying it (especially the writing:) My daughter has been teasing me about being a blog slacker so this is a good time for me to add the rice recipe. Feel free to share some of your favorite recipes and or thoughts in the comment sections (or do you have a blog we can pass along with a link?). TJ

Leave a Reply

