Irish Soda Bread

Standard

Irish Soda Bread

(Be sure to double this recipe if you have more than 6 people or plan to have leftovers.)

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups All-purpose flour
  • 3 Tblsp. Sugar
  • 1 tsp. Baking Soda
  • 3/4 tsp. Salt
  • 9 Tblsp. Butter
  • 1/3 cup Dried Currants
  • 1 cup Buttermilk (for dough)
  • 1 1/2 Tblsp. Buttermilk (for brushing on top)
  • (recipe calls for 1/2 cup golden raisins and 1 Tblsp. caraway seeds but I never add them)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, soda, and salt. Mix with a wire whisk. Cut in butter with a pastry blender or rub with fingers until fine crumbs form. Mix in currants (and raisins and caraway seeds if you like them). Add the buttermilk all at once and stir just until combined.

Pour out onto floured surface and gently knead until it is smooth (about 10-15 turns). Divide in half and form two rounds pat or roll into a flat round (about 2 inches thick). Place on a 12×15  in baking sheet lined with parchment paper (or greased). Use a sharp knife to cut a cross about 1/4 inch deep across the top. Brush with remaining buttermilk. Bake in a 375 degree oven until deep golden, 30-35 minutes. Serve warm with butter. Cut into wedges. Use in a day or two or freezer.

 

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for the recipe, TJ! I’ll let you know how everyone likes it. I bet it’s delicious, if you like it. 👍
    Patti

  2. TJ, I just made this and it is DELICIOUS!! So much better than store-bought! Just a nice hint of sweetness. It was easy to put together and didn’t take much time, which is the way I like my recipes!
    Note: I used 3/4 teaspoon of salt, which is what I think you intended to write. I’ll be making this again! Thanks! 😃
    Patti

    • Thank you for pointing out the missing ‘tsp.’ in the post, I just corrected it. So funny that I have read this many times and didn’t catch that typo. I’m glad you liked it, it’s one of my favorites too!

Leave a Reply

